Now, back to our regularly scheduled program…


lJust a quick update on my health: after spending the past two days at doctor’s offices, I am both frustrated and determined. I am frustrated that no one seems to know what to expect about the regression of my symptoms, or how I’m to wean myself off the dozen medications I am now taking. The good news is that I am slowly improving. Today I am walking without my cane, albeit slowly.

This morning I determined that no one is in charge of my health but me. So I’m taking more control of my own recovery. I’ll start physical therapy next week, and that should help me recover my strength and balance. The doctors gave me some leeway in fooling with my medications, morphine being the big one I want to get rid of. If I get off the morphine, then I can also ditch a couple of others that counteract the effects of morphine on some body functions. Of course, I’m not going to do anything totally crazy, but I am determined to be more aggressive in asking questions and posing possible scenarios for my recovery to my doctors.

All of that leads me to this disclaimer: since I am not dying today (or hopefully anytime soon), this is the last post about my health that I’ll write. The rest of this journey is just going to be determination and some work on my part regarding diet, exercise, and regulating my medications. So, if you got on here during my illness, thank you for your prayers and concern.

Tomorrow this blog will return to the theme I have been pursuing over the past 7-years. Of course, that’s small church stuff, and I have some new insights, ideas, and articles that are churning around in my head. If you got on to keep up with my health and  feel the need to cancel your subscription, I understand, and again thank you for your prayers and interest. I’m going to be fine, and the best way I know to be fine, is to get back to my life as it was 6 weeks ago and press ahead. For those of you who will be sticking around, I promise you won’t be disappointed. Thanks, again, for each expression of concern — now back to our regularly scheduled program!

12 thoughts on “Now, back to our regularly scheduled program…”

  1. I wish you the best and hope that things will improve for you.  Indeed you do have to take charge of your health and be an advocate for yourself with your physicians.  If you learned nothing else from this experience, you learned the most important thing to learn! Take care and stay strong.

    1. Judy, thanks! You know more about this health journey than most of us. Keep in touch and let’s pray for each other in the days ahead. Chuck

      Chuck Warnock Mobile 434.203.1448

  2. Just happened to see this. Get well. Looks like this pitiful country needs a lot more of you right now…..ld

    1. Chuck,
      You were always just the nicest guy growing up and in school. You made great grades, you were constantly busy doing for others. I was a Jock liked by Miss Snead so she always had me participate when I just wanted to play ball. You wrote great copy for me in the yearbook, bailed me out more than once.
      When you get well, let’s run you for President in three years. What do you think??…ld

  3. Glad to hear that you are getting back to normal, Chuck. I have been and will be praying for you, and one day soon I will try to get to Chatham for a visit.

  4. Excited to see you on the mend my brother. Will continue to remember you and Debbie as you progress. …. Oh, and by the way, I will continue to be a follower … no matter what!! Love to you Chuck.

  5. You are in our prayers, always! I pray that each day brings healing and you can kick the meds! Your faith and positive attitude will go a LONG way in your healing process. Take care of yourself!

  6. Thanks for your messages. Still praying and thinking of you and Debbie (even while I am in Hawaii with West Coast sister’s family!) Wha a lovely place! Love to all, JeanHV

  7. Glad to hear you are on the road to feeling better!
    Yes, our health care is ours to manage. My doctor said that in a public meeting once; I believe he regrets now that I was at that meeting!
    Looking forward to your insights!

Comments are closed.