Difficult Night, Disappointing News


Last night didn’t go so well. First, the pain medication that worked so well yesterday did not work so well last night. For some reason, my pain is worse lying down, so maybe that’s the reason. But last night I was in a great deal of pain.

I made the mistake of saying I was having chest pain, along with leg and back pain. Before I could explain further I was being given an EKG at 3 am, followed by blood work to check for those enzymes that indicate a heart attack, followed by oxygen. I’ll phrase things differently next time!

This morning, my neurologist explained why we weren’t doing a biopsy — too little chance of getting enough tissue to indicate what’s wrong. I will have a PET scan in a couple of weeks, which apparently zeroes in on cancer cells more effectively than anything else.

Today physical therapy will work with me on walking. Walking, for those who can, is greatly under- appreciated. Now that I’m having difficulty walking, I value mobility a lot more! We’re still waiting for blood work that went to California (at least part of me gets a vacation), so this should be a fairly easy day. Also, I’m getting an additional nerve pain medication and we’ll see how that works today.

I wish I could respond to each email and comment on these posts, but right now I don’t have the energy. But please know that I appreciate each word of encouragement and every prayer on our behalf. Our confidence is in the God of the universe who does all things well.

12 Comments

  1. Oh my goodness, how awful for you.  I certainly hope the nerve pain medication will help you today. I understand your frustration, believe me.  Don’t regret telling them that you had chest pain though. It does have to be evaluated when it happens. You can’t take a chance with that. The unknown can be maddening.  I sometimes think God must be testing my faith sorely or playing a joke on me! Keep the faith and stay strong. This too shall pass.  Judy Harris (Janice’s sister)

    ________________________________

  2. Chuck, we are praying for you and Debbie and know that God is in control no matter the circumstances. May you have a better day today and begin to receive some relief from all of that pain. Our love, my brother! … and God’s care! Jim

  3. IT IS IN PAIN AND SUFFERING AND TROUBLE THAT WE OUGHT TO TRUST GOD MORE, FOR IT IS EASY TO TRUST IN GOD WHEN ALL GOES WELL WITH US. FOR WHAT IS 120 OR 969 YEARS OF SUFFERING AND PAIN COMPARED TO ALL GLORIOUS ETERNITY, THE HEAVEN WHICH NO MIND CAN EVER COMPREHEND NOR IMAGINE ALL ITS GLORIES THAT ARE IN STORE FOR THOSE WHO LOVE THE CREATOR THE ALMIGHTY GOD THROUGH BELIEVING THE SACRIFICE OF JESUS CHRIST ON THE CROSS…

  4. Chuck, Mike and I are praying for you and Debbie during this difficult and confusing time. And for your doctors as well, as they figure this out. His Grace and His Peace to you both as He walks with you through this.

    Luann

  5. Chuck you remain in my prayers. I hate your having to go through this but your sharing I’m sure is helping others peace Randy

  6. Chuck & Debbie … Laura and I are praying for your healing! We are asking the God of the Breaker (Micah 2:13) to go before you and break open a way of understanding for all medical personel involved in your case. May His wisdom and understanding be poured out for your behalf and His Great Name. May this test become your testimony to God’s goodness & faithfulness on your behalf. In His Love … Lanny & Laura Richardson

  7. God has all of the answers and he will see you through this. He tells us that he will never put upon us more than we can handle and I truly believe that. It makes me so sad knowing that you’re in pain, something I ‘ve always tried to keep my patients free from. Sending prayers to heaven and much love and bear hugs to you and Debbie…..

Leave a Reply

