Where Have I Been?


Okay, you may be wondering, “Where has Chuck been for the past 5 months?” If you weren’t, stop reading now, but if you’re curious, here goes:

In addition to pastoring, in July, 2012 I began serving as the interim chaplain at Hargrave Military Academy here in Chatham. Very quickly I realized that this involved a lot more time, energy, and effort than I had thought when I accepted. Then, to further compound the time/preparation crunch, I began teaching 3 sections of Bible during the fall semester. Wow, does teaching take a lot of time or what? I now have new respect for anyone who teaches anything. Teaching in an academic setting is much more demanding, relentless, and time-consuming than leading workshops or seminars.

Add to pastoring, teaching, planning and conducting 2-3 chapel services each week my on-going DMin dissertation writing, and you get some idea of where I’ve been. Busy. Very, very busy.

Actually, none of that has changed — yet. But I do see light at the end of the tunnel. And, yes, I did this to myself by taking on too many projects at the same time. But, something had to go, so blogging was the first thing to get cut.

All of that to say, I’m trying to get my schedule and commitments to a more manageable level. I won’t bore you with the details, but I’m slowly unwinding, disengaging, and completing the things I too hastily agreed to do. By mid-January, I should be back to the normal busyness of a pastor’s schedule, I hope.

As Mark Twain once said, “The rumors of my death have been greatly exaggerated”…or something like that.  And as The Terminator said, “I’ll be back.” Sooner than later, I hope.

Grace and peace to you all.

8 thoughts on “Where Have I Been?”

  1. I thought you dropped me from the list! Weird I thought of you while we were in Barcelona last week. I am glad to hear from you. Will you be in Roanoke this week? Randy

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. Randy, Good to hear from you! I will not be in Roanoke (same reason — too busy), but glad to hear from you. Of course, I wouldn’t drop you or anyone — I need all the readers I can get. Barcelona…sounds interesting.

  3. Welcome back! I can say that I feel a BIT of your pain, having done only the Bible classes and church staff work! So you led the HMA chapel early and preached at CBC at 11? I’m glad there’s light at the end for you; may God bless you and your family.

    1. Thanks, Scott! Yes, I now have a new appreciation for your schedule when you guys were here. Actually, chapel is on Sunday night at 6:30 now, so that helps, but still it keeps me busy. Best to your family!

  4. I had somewhat expected that you were working on the dissertation and that was consuming most of your time. Hope you will soon get that behind you. Love to you and Debbie, my brother. Jim D.

  5. Brother, Greetings in the living name of Lord Jesus Christ.we are so happy to receive your answer and thanks the Lord for you,you are one of them those who serves people in the name of Jesus.now I’m sending you our proper mission information about church building.we want to build a big church here attach a school for poor christian children and we want to give them free education .Please donate us please send your donation to spiritual life ministry.don’t forget we really need your help we wish and invite you here in Pakistan poor and never effort fee,s.this is also our mission.this is our specific needs.we want to serve people in the name of Jesus Christ.then we will manage whole our mission.saying you we will serve together and became partner in Christ!Amen

    your brother in Christ!Pastor Yousaf

    ________________________________

  6. Hey Chuck, I have been thinking about you lately. I have been revisiting your writings on the church as abbey. Celtic Christianity continues to be a fascination of mine. Just wanted to catch up with you. Many blessings!

Comments are closed.