“8-Track of the Year” nominations now being accepted


8-track-tapeAs 2008 draws to a close, we turn our thoughts to the prestigious “8-Track of the Year” awards.  For those too young to remember, 8-track tapes were all the rage back in the 1970s.  A big, clunky endless loop tape was the hottest technology available.  You could actually play them in your car!  Imagine, music in your car…boggles the mind.  Anyway, 8-tracks are now the dinosaur of the digital age, which brings me back to our topic at hand: The 2008 8-Track Awards!  

Here’s how this works:  Nominate the church idea, practice, or product that is now completely obsolete.  Totally useless.  Nobody goes there anymore, kind-of-thing.  Example:  the weekly church bulletin service — you got a different blank bulletin with appropriate  full-color art work on the front.  Ideal for running through your “ditto” machine (remember?).  Okay, now it’s your turn.  The idea is to chronicle the changing church and how yesterday’s ideas are so, well, yesterday.  Have fun, play nice, and get your nominations in today!

12 Comments

  1. You mean the canned bulletins are out? I nearly got my head lopped off for suggesting that our church quit using those! How in the world would we know what’s going on at church? My favorite part of the bulletins is printing them for everyone to read, then the church insisting that someone read the bulletin announcements to the church at the end of the service. I wish this were an 8-track item for me!

  2. I actually thing clever powerpoint presentations are out. I notice less and less people use them. I know that is a more modern example but it is becoming more obsolete.

  3. Dan and Cyn, thanks. Both good candidates for the 8-track award. Thanks to all who joined in the fun. I’ll let you choose the winner…or loser, I guess would be more precise. -Chuck

  4. I’ll play, even though I’m late to the game (but did give you some link love on my blog). My nomination? Offering envelopes, especially boxes of them for each family with their number or other identifier on each envelope (plus extra envelopes every month for “the building fund”, “the school fund”, seasonal offerings, mission offerings, etc.

    It’s the 21st century. The term is “direct deposit”.

Leave a Reply

