Tags

, ,


We’re in south Georgia this weekend for a family reunion.  Our two granddaughters, 4 and 8, came with us.  They have never met some of the cousins, aunts, uncles, and in-laws that they’ll meet today when we gather at the Snipesville Baptist Church for the annual Kirkland family fish fry.  Kirklands are my mother’s family, and although she died in 1993, my dad continues to attend each year.  My dad is 88.  He and my mother’s youngest sister are the only ones left of my mother’s 9 brothers and sisters, and their spouses.

When our granddaughter, Vivian, was told that she was going to the fish fry with us, she said, “That’s great, I’ll have mahi-mahi!”  Her mother broke the sad news to her that there would be only catfish, not mahi-mahi.  But, both girls like hushpuppies, so we’re in good shape, I hope.   

I’m not posting a sermon this weekend because I’m not preaching.  We’ll miss the folks at our church in Virginia, but pastors need family time, too.  I’ll be back in the saddle on Monday.  Have a great weekend!  -Chuck